Unique Blogger Award

What with all the blogging awards popping up recently, we’ve been nominated again, this time for the ‘Unique Blogger Award’.  (I was nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award a while back, but decided not to accept it since I’m not sure this blog is exactly versatile.)  Thank you to Kate of The Loewe Legacy for the nomination! ❤

EDIT:  I’ve been nominated for the same award again, this time by The Windsor Legacy!  I’ve answered her questions below.

unique-blogger-award

The rules for the Unique Blogger Award are as follows:

  • Share the link of the blogger who has shown love to you by nominating you.
  • Answer the questions.
  • In the spirit of sharing love and solidarity with our blogging family, nominate  8-13 people for the same award.
  • Ask them 3 questions.

Kate’s Questions

1. What do you think makes your story different from the rest, what is it that makes it unique?

Within the community of Sims stories, I try to make mine unique through inventing my own characters and storylines, using the game as a tool for both illustration and inspiration.  As this is my first sims story worth mentioning, I’m learning a lot as I go along, and drawing inspiration from practically everything I read and watch.  I would hope that the combined elements of inspiration from various sources and my own imagination and writing style would combine to make something which is unique and enjoyable to read.

2. Which group do you belong to? Writers using The Sims as a source of images for their stories or Simmers who love sharing the stories of their Sims with others?

A bit of both, honestly.  Usually I have a general idea of where I want the story to go, and most of the major plot points are ideas I’ve used the game to illustrate.  However, I always play and take screenshots before I write the chapters.  A lot of the time my sims do interesting and unexpected things, so I like to take screenshots of impromptu moments like that and use them in the story as well.

3. Who of your Sims you’ve ever created is your absolute favorite and why?

Wow, hard question!  I’m going to assume you mean sims I’ve made myself as opposed to sims born in-game.  In that case, Luc would have to be my favourite.  Apart from the fact that I like his looks, I also love his character and the way it’s developed through the story so far.  That said, I’m sure in a few generations my answer will have changed!

The Windsor Legacy’s Questions:

1. What are your tips for overcoming writers’ block?

Writer’s block is a figment of your imagination.  That’s my first tip.  I read this somewhere once and I’ve since taken it on board as well:  forget about writer’s block.  Write anyway.  It doesn’t matter if it’s crap, just write.  For me, I find that either the creative juices start flowing again without me even trying, or when I go back and read whatever crap I wrote I find that it isn’t half as bad as I expected.  I’d never have gotten my most recent chapter out if I hadn’t forced myself to write it!

2. Are there any plot ideas/characters/etc that didn’t make it into your stories?

Wow, yeah.  Like so many.  Most of the noteworthy ones are ideas I had for the gen 3 kids who didn’t get chosen as heir.  I won’t spoil them in case I decide to use them later, but I decided I wanted to plan out each potential heir’s story a little but just to get myself excited about writing them, regardless of who was chosen.  But obviously, that would have resulted in a lot of unused characters and plot either way.  So yeah, if you’re interested I could write more about those, like I’m currently in the process of doing for Emily.  Otherwise, since I tend to write according to a loose plot and let things play out as they do in game, there are a lot of things that happen in game and I spin stories around in my head that don’t make it into the final chapters.  Sometimes I mention them later in the generational outtakes, though.

3. Do you prefer taking the photos or writing or…?

That’s actually kind of a hard one.  On the one hand, the only reason I’m doing this in the first place is because I love Sims and I love playing it.  I started writing legacy stories because as I play the game, I make up plots and characters in my head anyway to keep myself interested, and I was feeling the urge to write them down.  Sometimes, when I play, I can hear specific lines of dialogue in my head, kind of similar to when I draw a picture that’s part of a story.  So on the other hand, the story writing is what keeps me going, keeps me interested in playing the game.  With all that in mind, I’d have to say that I prefer not the photos or the writing, but the process of developing the story – that is, playing the game, and brainstorming story ideas as I do it.

My Nominations

I’m pretty picky about the blogs I follow and particularly the ones I nominate for awards, so my nominee list will be shorter than 8 blogs.  I therefore nominate the following:

And the questions for my nominees to answer:

  1. What is your favourite part of playing/writing stories for your sims?
  2. Which of your sims are you personally most like?
  3.  What is one thing you love about your own story and one thing you wish you did better?

And that’s that!  Thank you for all the love ❤  And congratulations to all the people I’ve nominated above for your amazing storytelling.

signature

8 thoughts on “Unique Blogger Award

  1. Pingback: Chapter 3.14 – As Long as We Both Shall Live | The Hunter Legacy

  2. Congratulations 🙂 I liked reading your answers and agree on the parts of writing and overcoming the hiatus. I think I have even answered the same questions so I can now compare, haha.

    Like

Leave a comment

