Special – Story Q&A

A while ago I promised to do two special posts in honour of this blog’s 1st birthday, one of which was a Q&A with myself and the characters, where I gave you guys the opportunity to ask any questions you wanted and have them answered.  And here it is at last!  So let’s get right to it.

Starting with the questions addressed to me – or in this case, my simself (by sofifi3):

Q: Would James and Tyler still have been close if their mother were loving and caring?

screenshot-9

A: I would like to think they would still have been close as siblings, but probably not as close as they were in the story, and their relationship would have been very different.  In the story, James took on the role of a parent-figure as well as an older brother in Tyler’s life, particularly during their childhood.  If their mother had been more of a mother to them, that responsibility would have been hers, not James’.  In that case, James and Tyler would have related to each other purely as siblings – including sibling rivalry, petty fights, all that good stuff.  It’s hard to imagine them like that, honestly!  I think, because of the person he is, James would probably still have looked out for his sister and played with her sometimes, but he wouldn’t have felt responsible for her wellbeing in the same way, and may have turned out a very different person because of it.  James and Tyler grew up only having each other for company and for support, and so both spent a lot more time hanging out and looking out for each other than they might otherwise have done.

Q:  Was Emily naturally rebellious, or did she have a motivation for it?

A:  I’m going to answer this in terms of Emily the character rather than Emily the sim (in-game traits, etc.).  Emily had quite a happy upbringing, I think.  Bianca and James weren’t particularly overbearing parents, so I wouldn’t say that there was any provocation for her to rebel based on her upbringing.  She was forced into Di’s shadow a bit, Di being the smart one who got all the top grades and prizes at school.  As was touched on a bit at the beginning of generation three, Flynn was the favourite child, and it’s possible that this did more damage to Emily than it did to Di.  Think classic “middle-child syndrome”.

screenshot-15

On the other hand, Emily was a bit of an adrenaline junkie and genuinely possessed a love for causing chaos and a certain degree of rebelliousness by nature that her siblings did not.  So my answer is, it’s a combination of both.  I think every child, to some extent, wants to feel loved and valued by their parents, so Emily’s troublemaking might have been a means of seeking attention from them; this, along with her natural character and interests, combined to form the person she eventually became.

Questions for Diana and Luc (from Lila Remonn)

Q:  What are your favourite things about each other?

screenshot-19_mini

Diana:  Apart from stunning good looks?  *laughs*  If I’m being serious, I’d probably  say that some of my favourite things about Luc are the things that make him different from myself.  I’ve always admired his spontaneity, the way he just goes with the moment and doesn’t hesitate.  I think he thinks I worry too much!  I like how he keeps me on track, and helps me remember what’s really important.  He’s always done that, and I like that he’s good for me in that way.  I think we complement each other pretty well.

Actually, on that note, I like how I can rely on him no matter what.  Even when I’m being crazy and irrational, he’s there to support me and keep me afloat.  I mean, we fight a lot, I think that’s normal, because we both get angry pretty easily, but he’s always there for me when it really comes down to it.  Honestly, I don’t know what I’d do without him.  He’s my lifebelt.

screenshot-13_mini

Luc:  That depends, how much time do we have?  I wouldn’t know where to begin.  Di’s beautiful, and incredibly smart, really focused and ambitious.  I’ve never really met anyone else like her.  So, one of my favourite things about her is she’s unique.  I like that she says what she thinks and doesn’t take shit from anyone, even though it means that we clash sometimes.  I love that fire.  It’s exciting, I guess – I’m never bored with her.

And I like her determination to get what she wants in life.  I’ve always thought that was fantastic, since the first time I met her, because I didn’t know what it was like to want something so much you’d do anything to get it.  Di has the brains and the drive to go wherever and do whatever she wants, and that’s amazing to me.  She’s amazing.  I’m pretty sure I don’t deserve her.

screenshot-3_mini

Q:  Luc, is Di your first relationship?

Luc:  Ummm… *glances at Di*  … sure.

Diana:  He’s lying.

screenshot_mini

Luc:  Erm… alright, fine.  But Di is the only person I’ve ever fallen completely for.  She’s not the first one I’ve dated, and definitely not the first one I’ve kissed… *Diana raises her eybrows* Wait, never mind.  Ignore that last part.  Point is, Di is the only one that matters now.  There was this one girl back in Bridgeport that I was pretty serious about, but she- I- we… it didn’t really work out.  I moved here, and there were some girls in the group I hung around with for a few years in high school that were pretty, um, interested.  Some people are a lot less selective than others in the people they sleep with.  That’s all I’m saying.  Next question?

screenshot-15_mini

Q:  What is the sweetest, most romantic thing you’ve done for each other?

Diana:  I feel like it’s kind of hard to self-judge that sort of thing, so I’m going to go with the sweetest thing Luc has ever done for me.  There are a lot of things, it’s a bit hard to pick one, but I think the time he made me karaoke to the first song we danced to together would have to be up there.  That was pretty romantic.

screenshot-9_mini

Luc:  Not the time I proposed to you?

Diana:  I was pregnant and sore all over at the time, so no.  Not really.  That was not your best timing.

screenshot-6_mini

Luc:  Oh… Well, okay.  The “sweetest, most romantic thing” that Di has ever done for me… actually there was this one time, while we were engaged, I was out during the day doing something boring like shopping or whatever, and I wasn’t expecting Di to be at home when I got there because she usually works until around nine or ten.  But when I got home, she was there;  she’d taken time off work and asked Mandy and Ethan to babysit the kids, and her Mum and Dad had just left on a weekend trip, so we were alone in the house.  And she’d gone all out – music, candles, ambient lighting, rose petals, the whole package.  She’d even made cheesesteak, even though she doesn’t usually cook, because she knows it’s my favourite meal.  It was a special night she’d put aside for just the two of us.  And, I don’t know, I know how important Di’s work is to her, so it really meant a lot to that she’d put it aside to make everything about me for that one night.

screenshot-20_mini

Q:  Luc, do you listen to music?  And what type?

Luc:  For some reason a lot of people I meet seem to think I’m an indie music kind of person, but I’m not sure where they get that from.  I don’t listen to a lot of music, but when I do it’s generally some form of rock, something I can sing along and get pumped up to.  Is that too cliche?  I don’t know, but it’s what I like, so whatever.

screenshot-12_mini


Hope you enjoyed!  Stay tuned for the next chapter, which should be up soon if all goes well 🙂

signature

7 thoughts on “Special – Story Q&A

Leave a comment

